Skip to content

Allow myself to introduce…myself

January 26, 2012

Hi! I’m Robin Markel, I’m originally from northern Minnesota, but currently residing in San Diego, CA.  My last period of gainful employment was in the Navy, did 6 years and got out to be a trophy wife and finish college, but mostly to finish college. My husband is also in the Navy and we have 3 kids.

I am in my second semester of full-time course-work in the MLIS program, hopefully will graduate in Spring ’13.  I am new to programming but have been wanting to learn about this sort of thing for a long time. This class is scaring me at the moment and I’m completely paranoid that I’m going to break the entire Internet with one stupid move, but I’m a quick learner so I am going to press ahead anyway and hopefully come out at the end with some sweet new “skillz.”

One factoid about me…I collect Stephen King first edition hardcovers, current count at 27.  I also collect other unique or limited editions, my favorite is my comic book version of “Creepshow.”

5 Comments leave one →
  1. shenriksson permalink
    January 26, 2012 5:09 pm

    “This class is scaring me at the moment and I’m completely paranoid that I’m going to break the entire Internet with one stupid move…”

    Maybe not the Internet, but at least something! I know that wrong keystroke just caused a monsoon somewhere, I just know it. I was starting to break out in a sweat last night. But we’ll get through it somehow. 🙂 Just stick with it!

  2. January 26, 2012 5:09 pm

    Hi Robin,

    Oh I know what you mean! I’ve never focused so hard on my keyboard before. I was so afraid of typing in the wrong thing or missing a space, but what a rush when I saw the picture pop up! I’m officially hooked. =)

    • sarcisticclapping permalink
      January 26, 2012 6:37 pm

      I could get the picture to come up on its own, but not with the text. VERY annoying. I know its just the extra credit, but it is going to bother me until I figure out what I did wrong. It was pretty exciting when that first link worked, though 🙂

  3. mjhopper permalink
    January 26, 2012 5:11 pm

    Hello Robin!
    My name is Marcia. I am a Veteran too. I was in the Army for 5 years (89-94). I think it is important to connect with other Vets when I have them in my classes. I am glad to meet you. I find it interesting your love of SK books! I used to read them as a teenager. Do you like his more recent work? It seems to be more serious than his horror stories. Its great meeting you and I wish you luck during the semester.

    • sarcisticclapping permalink
      January 26, 2012 6:35 pm

      I do like his recent work, but his early-mid 80’s work is still my favorite. I was in the Navy from May ’01 to May ’07. It was fun, but I’m glad I decided to make the most of my GI Bill. Good to “meet” you, too!

Leave a Reply

