Skip to content

Please allow me to introduce myself…

January 25, 2012

Hi Classmates,

My name is Vaile Fujikawa and this is my second term in the MLIS program. I hope to be done in two years, but we’ll see.

I don’t have any programming or web development experience, but do have some experience fiddling around with HTML on ancient sites like Livejournal and with the library management software I used to use, Destiny.

Insofar as something unusual about me is concerned, I had a rock climbing accident several years ago and had to have my right foot and ankle screwed back together. As a result that leg is slightly shorter than the other. 😀

3 Comments leave one →
  1. mnuesca permalink
    January 26, 2012 1:17 am

    Hi Vaile,

    What a beautiful and interesting name! I don’t think I’ve ever encountered it before. How exactly does one pronounce it and where does it come from? Having grown up with an unusual name I find that I’m sensitive about pronunciation and my ears perk up when I encounter an equally unique name. My name, which is supposed to be pronounced “Mercy-death” (it’s a combination of my grandmother’s name: Mercedes and my mother’s name: Editha), is constantly mispronounced “Meredith” (without the C), hence the nickname “Mercy”.

    I look forward to working with you this semester, Vaile!

  2. merrily chopp permalink
    January 26, 2012 10:32 am

    Greetings from a fellow member of the unusual names club. My name does not have an interesting story like yours, Mercy. Rather, my parents saw it in the newspaper before I was born. Yawn!

  3. derek permalink*
    January 28, 2012 1:43 pm

    I’m a hiker and outdoors type myself. My right leg is shorter than my left just as a matter of nature, no cool pins and needles!

    derek

Leave a Reply

