Skip to content

Hello 240!

January 25, 2012

Hi everyone,

My name is Sarah Henriksson (my nickname is Sari–feel free to call me that) and I’m in my fourth semester in the MLIS program. After this semester, I’ll be half way through the program (my work schedule restricts me from taking more than two classes at a time). My goal is to graduate in Spring 2014 after 4 long years *fingers crossed*.

I have actually done a bunch of html coding for my work’s website, but it’s been really only the basics, nothing dramatic like what you see on some visually appealing and user-friendly sites. I’m looking forward to honing my current skills and learning a lot more (never worked with anything like the shell client–boy was that intimidating!).

An odd fact about me is that I was born in the US, but had dual citizenship with Sweden (I don’t have it anymore). My dad’s US citizenship wasn’t finalized until after I was born, so his Swedish citizenship passed to me. I had a Swedish person number (their SSN equivalent) and for awhile I had an EU passport.

I look forward to learning with all of you this semester!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2012 9:38 pm

    Looks like we’ve got two “Swedes” in this class…I was adopted into a Swedish family and was given the Swedish citizenship as well, was too lazy to change it so I still hold the Swedish citizenship. : )

  2. shenriksson permalink
    January 26, 2012 9:34 am

    That’s cool! The Swedish culture is alive all well in my family and we still celebrate all the major Swedish holidays. Funny fact that you might appreciate: both my parents were born on St. Lucia Day. So every year on their birthday, Lucia comes to visit them…

    • merrily chopp permalink
      January 26, 2012 10:44 am

      Why do you think the shell was intimidating? is it because the UI was so cold?

      I was worried I would make a mistake that could affect the whole site.

  3. shenriksson permalink
    January 26, 2012 4:10 pm

    The shell was intimidating simply because I was not used to the means of inputting commands–and I think I was like you, worried that I would do something wrong that would have lasting effects. It makes me think back to the days of MS-DOS, which I was only familiar enough with to run Hack (a DOS-based computer game where you explore levels of dungeons, fight monsters, and collect items).

  4. January 26, 2012 4:50 pm

    Hi Sarah! Nice to see a familiar “name” in the class. =)
    The Shell was a bit intimidating. Any little thing can throw it off, so I may need more coffee than usual to keep up. At least that’s the excuse I’m using to support my coffee addition. =)

  5. derek permalink*
    January 28, 2012 2:04 pm

    Interesting conversation on the shell! The interesting thing is UNIX permissions won’t let you wreck the whole site, just your own! Does loving Bergman films make me an honorary Swede?

    derek

    • shenriksson permalink
      January 30, 2012 9:33 am

      “The interesting thing is UNIX permissions won’t let you wreck the whole site, just your own!”

      Oh that’s a relief!

      And I think we can make you an honorary Swede–but you may have to be inducted by tasting sil (pickled herring). 😉

Leave a Reply

