Skip to content

Did I Break My PHP?

December 10, 2011
by

Hey Everybody-

I am at my wits end…I have tried and tried and tried and tried, ignored it, and tried again to get my form for the final project to work and it’s not…
I receive the JS pop up messages about missing content if not all the fields are completed, but when I hit submit, I get nothing. I have listened to both lectures about forms, installed firebug, deleted and then re-downloaded the form files from the appropriate lectures and nada. I know it’s something in my student_form.php file but I seriously cannot figure it out. The error message I receive is as vague as it gets “Network Error: 500 Internal Server Error.” I have triple checked my files to make sure they are correct, and I seriously cannot figure it out.
Anybody have ANY clues? Or troubleshoot resources that can tell me what on earth is wrong?
Thanks!
-Katie

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2011 11:01 pm

    Katie, I’m glad I’m not alone. I also get the 500 Internal Server Error on my PHP form.

  2. December 10, 2011 11:18 pm

    Misery loves company! 🙂

    Good luck with the rest of your project!

  3. December 11, 2011 12:21 am

    Check all paths! I “borrowed” the form from our assignment earlier in the year. I got it working as it was without changing any fields. Then I made one change to adapt to my new site and it went haywire. I thought I was modifying the fields incorrectly. After a couple of hours of troubleshooting, I was about to give up. Then in the header, I noticed the src path was pointing to the old student site, and not in my final_project location. Once I fixed the path, all my field and code changes worked.

    Long story short, verify each path in your code. If you need more help, shoot me an email.

  4. December 11, 2011 12:29 pm

    Dominique:

    Shawn helped me look over some of my files and he got it to work! My includes and other files within my form_student2 file had my final_project proceeding their sub-directory. He had me change those to just their sub_directory.
    Here’s an example:
    Before: final_project/includes/header.inc
    After: includes/header.inc

    Make sense? So I changed all those includes, student_function, nav files so they dropped the “final_directory.” Hope this helps. Many thanks to Shawn for his willingness to help me out so last minute!

Leave a Reply

