Skip to content

More XML

November 9, 2011
by

Just an FYI on the xml assignment. In the recorded lecture I only marked-up one item of my collection. That’s because I wanted to wait until I had a valid system formed. After your system is complete and valid, you need to mark-up 10 items (ostensibly the 10 from week 6 assignment) to fulfill the assignment requirements.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2011 10:31 am

    Hi derek,

    I think I am going to try a different set of data instead of the books table from week 6. In part because I want to try something with the data sets and also in part because I was unclear what you mean by us not being allowed to use the same tags you use in this week’s example.

    For clarity sake, when you say we cannot use the same tags that you do in the example, do you just mean ? Could we use something like ? Or should we not use publication date at all since you have used it? Perhaps I am not feeling that creative, but I cannot seem to think of a lot of additional elements based on the books table.

    I figure I should ask in case my data set does not work out and I end up needing to plug in the book list stuff.

    Thanks,
    Shawn

    • derek permalink*
      November 9, 2011 11:36 am

      If I use -publisher- as a tag, -published_by- is not the same. When I say tags, I literally mean the same tags: not the metadata represented by the tags. Another example: -collection- is not the same as -this_collection- or -item- is not the same as -an_item- …be very literal here, in fact, be as literal as the Rain Man.

Leave a Reply

