Skip to content

new design for web pages

October 28, 2011

We all know that the first texts were on scrolls and then they moved to the codex form which is a predecessor to the modern book.  The question now is, are web pages going to follow the same evolution from a scroll down page to a page to page type of page.  That is the topic of this article, http://www.pcworld.com/article/242822/opera_cto_kill_the_browser_scroll_bar.html.  Should we loose the scroll bar, and change to a page to page view, or are we stuck in the world of the scroll bar? I studied history for my Bachelors and the idea of the web replacing books is an interesting and important topic to me, and the idea that the internet will follow the same pattern of books is highly interesting.  And I think its a topic that I haven’t heard a lot about, but I am interested to see how people react to the idea of changing how web pages are set up and how they would then have to view the sites.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 31, 2011 9:26 am

    Has anyone viewed this site on a mobile device? You get a cover page with a “swipe me” tag, and then each post is presented as a discrete item (headline, teaser text). Selecting one opens it in a new window. I hate that view and always go back to the standard view where I can scroll down and see all the posts. Functionally, there is little difference. In both views, I see the head and teaser and have to click to see the entire post plus comments. In both views, I have to actively move on to the next or previous post. However, there is something about seeing the posts stacked in reverse chronological order that is more appealing and logical to me.

    This isn’t exactly what you are describing here, but was the first thing I thought of. Lie’s idea makes more sense, if the developer can control how much content a “page” consists of and the reader can control how large that “page” is displayed. What if the “page” is a lengthy text and the reader needs a large type size? Won’t they then need to scroll? In an e-reader, page numbers are meaningless because a page at 12-pt type does not hold the same content as one at 24-pt. If Lie’s goal is to have multiple columns on a page, that makes sense. I think “killing the scrollbar” is an exaggeration or an unrealistic goal.

Leave a Reply

