Skip to content

CNET

October 28, 2011

I have found CNET (http://www.cnet.com/) to be a useful tool in all technology related things. I have used it when purchasing cameras, surround sound systems, cell phones and media players. I also use it to locate free software in certain instances – for example, tagging mp3s.  One of the things I find helpful on the site are the reviews. There are the “pro” demos and reviews from the staff of cnet. But they also allow reviews from the little people. These reviews helped me steer clear of software that had hidden items in the “free” trials, such as pop ups and so forth. There are often “free” downloads that have some catch. This site helps me either avoid those catches (such as very little usability unless you pay to upgrade to a full version), or the information on the site lets  me know what I am getting into. I hate running into unexpected behavior from software. If  I know what I am getting into, then I am less likely to be frustrated. CNET helped me out in this.

For this week’s digital story, I used CNET to locate some recording studio software to record the music in my story. There were several to choose from. I was able to pretty quickly identify some potential products to try and those to avoid. I settled on Kristal and it did what I needed it to. I am not advanced at all in the recording thing, so I did not need all the bells and whistles. I had been wanting some software like this for a while. I used to have Cubase that I paid $100-150  for a while back.

Anyway, whenever I have a need for a technological tool, I check out CNET. Looks like they have some developer tools that might be fun to try sometime.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 28, 2011 12:43 pm

    I was just introduced to CNET by my roommate. What a great resource! We reviewed routers after experiencing major interference from our current one. Seriously saved me lots of bucks! CNET rules!!! And they are a reputable source.

Leave a Reply

