Skip to content

A Sandbox for Colors!

October 27, 2011
by

I have decided to share Colorspire for Week 10’s assignment, available here: http://www.colorspire.com/.  Many of the posts that I’ve seen so far have ventured into the theoretical or more complex aspects of web development, so I thought I’d share something more basic.  Which, oddly enough, is what usually gives me the most trouble.  Colorspire allows the user to test different colors side by side in a web page layout template.  You can navigate through a color wheel in a manner similar to that of Photoshop, creating a color scheme as you go.  The best part is that the hexadecimal values for each color are displayed for you.  There are also links to web-safe colors, HTML color names and codes, and RGB to Hex/Hex to RGB converters.  It will definitely come in handy when doing CSS.  Enjoy!

.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2011 8:47 pm

    Jessica, I really like the layout options on this site. I was just looking at a similar one at http://colorschemedesigner.com/ when I saw your post. The biggest difference in the two is being able to select the layout with Colorspire and being able to preview a dummy webpage in Colorscheme. I think they are both pretty useful for color ideas. I’m still going at it the hard way by pecking in a number from the color chart in our textbook and uploading it to see what it turns out like! Now I can change my work style.

  2. October 27, 2011 9:08 pm

    Hi Jessica, I really like your site selection for the blog. I found it to be very interesting and helpful. It was so easy to use and select all the different colors that I want to put on the template layout. I wish that designing my own webpage/website is this easy. Thanks for sharing this great resources!
    Mai Soua

  3. October 27, 2011 9:52 pm

    This is awesome. Like Dominique, I’ve just been following the color chart in the back of our Castro text. Trial and error through the type, save, upload, check browser process takes a ton of time. This site will be really helpful for the final project. Thanks.

  4. October 28, 2011 12:02 am

    I agree with my peers. It’s nice to know of a source now without having to refer to the back of the Castro book, then upload to see how the color changes. I also liked how the color scheme designer allowed you to slightly brighten, darken, saturate, or unsaturate your color. As a newbie in Photoshop, I find it hard to find the exact color that I want, but this tool actually allows you to slightly modify the color you already have, which could help me with this issue. Thanks for sharing–I bookmarked this one for later!

  5. October 28, 2011 6:57 pm

    Oh man, I needed this. I’m never satisfied with the color combos I end up with. I, too, have a hard time with the photoshop color selector. This is going to be a major time saver for me.

Leave a Reply

