Skip to content

Media Converter

October 26, 2011

Derek’s post about Audacity reminded me of a project I did last semester that was heavy on music edits and included a bunch of media nuggets I’d taken off the Web here and there.  To complete this project I used Audacity, but I also used www.mediaconverter.org.

What does Media Converter do?  It downloads and converts Website audio and video into portable media files.

How does it work?

  1. Find a Website with audio or video you like and want to turn into an mp3 or mp4 file.
  2. Cut and paste the URL from the Webpage that the media is located into the Conversion Wizard on the Media Converter Webpage.  Click “OK.”
  3. Click the “go the the next step” arrow.
  4. Select the output format you desire.  Along with mp3 and mp4 output formats, Mediaconverter can also create 3g2, 3gp, asf, avi, flv, m4v, mkv, mov, mpeg, ogg, rm, wav, wma, and wmv files.  Click “OK.”
  5. Click “Start”
  6. Wait for the file to complete conversion and then click “download.”
  7. Ka-Chow, out comes a file.

Another option is to download the Firefox extension for Media Converter.  This allows you to enter URLs directly into a special little Firefox toolbar for convenience sake.

While there are a limited number of sites from which content can be converted using Media Converter, the list is inclusive enough to be workable most of the time.  As of today, the sites available for free file conversion through Mediaconverter are: blip.tv, break.com, dailymotion,com, facebook.com, livevideo.com, metacafe.com, myvideo.ch, myvideo.de, veoh.com, and youtube.com.  Media Converter also limits the file size of conversions to 100MB for free users.  Paid subscribers are able to convert files from a few additional sites and up to 1GB in size.

-P

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2011 6:50 pm

    That is a really interesting tip! I had no idea that you could do that and I think it’s a very interesting conundrum for the copyright thing. If someone has the right to use a song and they do for a YouTube video, could you then go and use that file? I guess copyright is on your honor now, eh?

  2. October 26, 2011 8:05 pm

    I think you’re probably right about it being “on your honor” to use the converter only on non-copyright material. There are no safeguards that detect and prohibit downloading copyright material that I’ve found. The owner of the site seems to recognize this and, in the Help Center, posts this comment:

    “Is this site legal? This website operates in a grey area. So it is hard to say if it is legal or not. Media Converter never got sued so far in the two years of existence.”

  3. October 27, 2011 2:25 pm

    I have the firefox extension on my browser and have used it many times. It a great little tool! Media Converter looks promising too! I like the fact that it doesn’t have to be tied to youtube. I’m sure these tools have been used for coverting copyrighted material, but their are so many legal uses for these tools as well…

  4. October 27, 2011 9:13 pm

    Hi Peter, thanks for sharing this wonderful site. The Media Converter here seems to be very easy and promising. Also, thanks for the step-by-step instruction. It really helped ;0)
    Mai Soua

  5. October 27, 2011 11:55 pm

    I don’t use the term “dude” lightly, but dude, this is awesome! I have two young kids and occasionally get to watch Yo Gabba Gabba. There is one episode where the Postmarks play a cute little tune about called “Balloons”. I like this song a lot and it gets stuck in my head. I can’t find the song anywhere! Not from the Postmarks and not through any Gabba compilation. Typically, I will try to purchase a song if I can. I love to support the musicians. But this song is unavailable for download. Until now. Now I can listen to it any time! Thanks Peter!

  6. October 28, 2011 8:42 pm

    Shawn- I know the episode you are referring to. My daughter is also a pretty big Gabba fan. She’s dressing up as Brobee for Halloween. Glad the converter is helpful.

    -P

Leave a Reply

