Skip to content

Week 10 – Using Art Principles in Websites

October 25, 2011

http://www.problogdesign.com/design/7-elements-to-make-your-blog-look-great/

This website shows  several design principles that can make your website more attractive to people surfing the web. As most people seem to think that art and web design are too different to have much in common (this does not apply to anyone who’s taken serious amounts of art classes like myself), this shows that the same principles that are necessary in a good art piece, are also beneficial in a good website or blog. They are similar because both involve making something that is pleasing to the human eye. I see some other people posting articles about what a good site or blog looks like but I wanted to find somewhere that showed why they are more attractive. These elements describe how a design can be more appealing, not just functional and I think that they are involved in all the “good looking” sites.

~Danielle

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2011 11:21 am

    Very interesting site! I like that it also stresses the functionality as part of a good design. I know I’ve seen several websites that were beautiful and completely confusing. I would rather have a functional site than something pretty, but both is even better. 😉

  2. October 25, 2011 3:56 pm

    I think this resource is really wonderful, and similar to you I simply relied on Googling “well designed websites” and viewed those for inspiration. Yet I was never really able to understand why the websites were well designed, and for somebody like me with no formal or for that matter informal training in art or design I was always a little bit lost. I look forward to further exploring this website.

  3. October 25, 2011 6:12 pm

    I like the other commenters liked this link and look forward to exploring some of the links a little forward. I know that I will need a little when designing the look of my site for the final project. I will say though that in same ways the article itself was still a little vague and I feel really reiterates some of the things that Derek has emphasized about usability, colors, flow, etc. It is nice though to have all of these ideas all in one place.

  4. October 25, 2011 11:26 pm

    Whilst the information was good, the site itself I didn’t like mainly because after each image the credit wasn’t sitting right for me…it just kinda hung there after it, like a tail. It was weird. But the background, choice of colors, and font were all very nice. The content was very good also, I will remember it in the future, I just couldn’t get around the image credits! is it just ME?

Leave a Reply

