Skip to content

For your coding fun – the Wiki Challenge

October 25, 2011
by

I came across this challenge today whilst looking up some random stuff on Wikipedia to resolve non-work-related co-worker disputes. It’s a challenge sponsored by Media Wicki, ” a free software open source wiki package written in PHP, originally for use on Wikipedia.” And it naturally caught my eye due to the coding challenge, because it’s php related, and because it’s a great example of opensourcing, which I know is of interest to everyone in this class. The challenge ‘about’ is also well written and fun, doesn’t give away too much but piques interest (my itals):

“The Wikimedia Foundation (“WMF”) is committed to creating “a world in which every single human being can freely share in the sum of all knowledge.” To do that, we need to cultivate and foster a dedicated community of software developers for WMF websites, most notably the Wikipedia website. We’d like your help in figuring out how we encourage people to become – and remain – contributors of software to WMF websites. That is why we are sponsoring this competition.”

The Mobile Photo Upload Challenge caught my attention – and particularly as a MLIS student, thinking about how to “ensure photos have some basic metadata and correct licensing info”, and mulling over the question of – is uploading a photo to Wikipedia a reader experience, or a separate experience? I feel like it would be so fun for a reader to be able to upload a photo of, for example, one of the Occupy protests, as it’s happening, for readers to get a real, live-time experience with that page.

Let me know if you are or decide to take part!

~Alison

 

 

 

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 27, 2011 9:22 pm

    Hi Alison, thanks for posting this. Really helpful information for me, because I can definitely use these links for further reading to enhance my understanding of what-the-heck I’m doing in this class. I wished I had these information at the beginning of the semester as it would’ve made my coding/website-page creation life much easier. You’re a life saver ;0)
    Mai Soua

Leave a Reply

