Skip to content

Unfocused Focus For Final – Youth, I.F. & Censorship, With a Touch of SciFi

October 7, 2011

Hm. I’m not a “big picture” guy so it takes a while for me to target a specific topic. Plus, when it is something that is more than just me tinkering around with the student website, I figure I need to watch the sarcasm and cynicism I often employ in my work where I am offered a bit of creativity. This is serious stuff so my brain is freezing up. In any event, with reflection on some of the reasons I entered the SLIS program, I am trying to think of a way to devise a website that encapsulates Intellectual Freedom, Youth Advocacy (and their right to information),  and the role science fiction plays in all this.

Just not completely certain what I want to convey or how I would spread the topic over several pages. Thoughts anyone?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2011 11:24 am

    Hey Shawn,

    It sounds like a great skeleton idea – although the role science fiction plays has me a little stumped. Maybe you could research the Intellectual Freedom aspect and have that as its own section, ditto Youth Advocacy, and then, for less dry reading for the YA crowd, you could review/link to books that help advance these concepts through fiction or non? For example, a book about an emancipated minor…in a science fiction world…hum. Now I’m thinking Ray Bradbury, Madeline L’Engle – favs from my youth who had advocacy themes subtly running through their work – can’t be a bad place start, even if the reference for today’s YA is a little old.

    I really do think it’s got great potential. I’d be happy to talk it out with you if you need to bounce ideas off someone.

    ~Alison

  2. derek permalink
    October 13, 2011 8:22 pm

    Disembodied brain under class wonders if you have topic or stream of consciousness? MUST BOUNCE BALL IN TIME…

    Actually, Intellectual Freedom for the YA crowd is a serious topic and a collection/guide to issues and challenges facing the librarian in this area is a good place to start. Might I suggest collection development for YA? This hits many competencies at a stroke.

Leave a Reply

