Skip to content

ideas for a final project

October 7, 2011
by

I have left this part of week 7’s assignment for last because I was waiting for that great idea to “pop” into my head. It has not.  So I have no 1 idea for my project.

Instead I have many half-thoughts:

1) a site dedicated to the must have’s for libraries’ web sites: a sort of checklist site you go to when determining if your libraries’ web site has everything a good library site should have.

maybe not.

2) a site dedicated to my family’s history or family tree. It would include family history, pictures, links to social networking sites, geographical information, and so on. It could get complicated.

I’m not sure if this topic would be appropriate for a final project in this class, but I think I could really have fun with this one.

3) a site dedicated to learning your way around a new town, state, or country.  perhaps I could focus on one specific city-or make it very broad.?

– I can recall that it must be a LIS-oriented topic.    I guess my real question is whether the topic must relate to web development and technology? How much freedom do we have in picking a topic?

-carmen

PS

Since I initially wrote this post, I have decided on a topic for my final project!  I will create a web site that describes Oral History.  What it is, the process of getting info and recording it,  presenting it, and other useful information. 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. derek permalink
    October 13, 2011 8:33 pm

    Carmen,

    An “LIS-related” topic can be very broad, but is generally related to one of the competencies you will have to address in the e-portfolio. The best of the three is likely the first one (what should be on a library website and how to evaluate what is). The second would have to be a site about making a genealogy site (HOWTO). The third could be a site which shows one the methods and sources for a proper pre-travel research job (teaches how to be a better traveler by being informed ahead of time).

  2. Victoria permalink
    October 16, 2011 2:14 pm

    I think that your first choice would make for an interesting web site.

  3. October 18, 2011 8:50 am

    Another vote for your first idea: a usability checklist seems like something a lot of libraries can use.

Leave a Reply

