Skip to content

Alison’s Revisited Final Project Idea

October 7, 2011
by

I started this post the other day and then rethought it – but I really would like to do a local (SF Bay Area) dog resource page. In the past few weeks I’ve had to do a lot of research on things like dog laws, rules, regulations, fees, fines, licensing, impoundment, lawyers specializing in animal law, how to find those lawyers, etc, and would like to compile what I’ve learned in one place so that other folks don’t have to do all the digging I did to find answers. It helps that I’m in this program and enjoy research & digging; I’d love to share my findings with anyone who needs it.

So that would include links to shelters, animal rights groups, trainers, dog parks, articles – anything I can think of that would be useful to a dog owner who has questions about their animal’s rights and their responsibilities as an owner, and how to give their dog a safe, legal, happy local experience.

I’m open to any suggestions.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2011 9:21 am

    I think this is a great idea Alison. As pet owner (and hopefully future dog owner) it would be nice to have a one stop shop. You might also include pet friendly places to visit (restaurants, banks, etc.) or stay at (i.e. hotels). The bank branch that I used to work at in Mill Valley always kept Milk Bones on hand for the customers who brought their dogs. It seemed kind of unique. It was kind of cool to connect with the customers.

    I also think this is a great idea because it is tough to know what you can and can’t do as a pet owner. You certainly have to protect yourself and your pets. On the flip side, we have one set of neighbors that just open their open their front door and let their little wiener dog run around without a leash or any supervision. The main concern is that the dog lays down in the middle of the road and does not really move if cars come. I have people come to my door asking if that is my dog. So the question is what can I do? I don’t start stuff with the neighbors, but I don’t want the dog to get hurt either. It would seem a website like this would come in handy in this situation.

  2. derek permalink
    October 13, 2011 8:16 pm

    This is a workable topic if presented as an information resource tool such as a pathfinder. I suggest having a look at some typical pathfinders and then deciding if you can present your information in that format.

Leave a Reply

