Skip to content

ebook extravaganza

October 5, 2011

Hello everyone!

I’d like to do my final project on ebooks, perhaps with a focus on ebooks and ereaders in public libraries. I work at the Omaha Public Library and a week ago we began offering free ebooks for the Kindle. We have many other ebooks available, and we also check out Nook ereaders, but frankly I need to look into this topic a little more for my job… especially since I’m the techie at my branch library!

I want to explore the controversy of ebooks – like environmental issues, long term preservation, access to information, and overall adoption of this technology. Actually, I have many, many ideas about this topic, and I once I get a chance to look into it in more depth, I’ll be able to narrow it down.:)

Thanks!

Rebecca

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2011 8:43 pm

    Yeah, a lot of fiery topics with this one! Here I am on my iPad and I never read ebooks. The costs, expensive resources going towards a limited target audience, the weird legal issues…

  2. October 7, 2011 8:55 am

    Hi Rebecca,

    This topic sounds very interesting. I did a paper on the “e-book revolution” pros and cons for my 200 class my first semester. If you want to have a look at my annotated bibliography you are welcome to–but there are hundreds of resources available to you, so you probably won’t have any trouble finding them as it is! I also came across this interesting website ad in my printed paper the other day, in defense of paper: http://www.paperbecause.com

    It talks about the environmental sense continuing to use paper makes since it is a renewable resource (and electronic materials usually aren’t). I love digital objects, but I’ve always had a strong affinity towards paper. Even though I now own a Nook to get familiar with an e-reader (my library pushed it as an employee benefit), I don’t ever use it. I have trouble feeling comfortable for the format. I know this topic quickly gets political (and can turn into a mud-slinging fest of digital vs. paper on the comment forums of news sites), and you may not be headed in that direction with this topic, but just wanted to share!

    By the way paperbecause.com was working yesterday, but today the server appears to be down. Also in the Google results, there is an option to block the website. I’ve never seen that before on Google (probably been oblivious), but when I checked the other links on the results screen, no other site had the block option. Odd, or am I missing something? See below:

    Paper Because… – Home

    http://www.paperbecause.com/ – Block all http://www.paperbecause.com results

    That is why Domtar has launched the PAPER because campaign – to highlight the key role … Called the “Paper Trail”, the online tool discloses what it takes to …

  3. derek permalink
    October 13, 2011 2:13 pm

    Great topic. Full speed ahead!

Leave a Reply

