Skip to content

Week 7 PHP Hiccups

October 4, 2011

Hey Everyone,

If you have not tried the PHP assignment here are a couple of things I have run into. I noticed the php files are setup with the navigation menu as Rod Jaynes has it – meaning Content is on the left and the Navigation menu is on the right. I set my student site up with the opposite layout where my navigation is on the left. It was an easy enough fix in just switching the “main left” and “main right” code around in the PHP files. But I wanted to give you a heads up in case any of you run into this and start to freak out.

Also, the step by step instructions  for the php set up do not include an instruction to update the css path in the header of the “form_student.php” file. I did not initially change it and the results page looked funky. Anyway, I figure for those of us who are following all the steps, some of us might not think to make the change. Just another heads up.

Hopefully this makes sense. Good luck!

Shawn

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2011 12:20 pm

    One other issue I had was in the response to an incomplete form. My footer disappeared when the response came up. Per derek’s guidance, I commented out the “die();” command in the “form_student.php” file in order to get the page to load right. The die command appears around line 56 in the file.

  2. October 5, 2011 2:12 pm

    Thanks for the reminders and heads up!

  3. October 6, 2011 8:09 pm

    Related to the “die();” command, if it remains active in the code, your page’s HTML will not validate. It will quit before loading the tags at the end. And the validator goes, “WHAT?!?” (Can you read that in kind of a screechy whine?)

  4. October 7, 2011 9:33 pm

    Thank you SOOOO much for posting this! Saved me a giant headache. PHP scares me…

Leave a Reply

