Skip to content

Final Project Idea …

October 4, 2011
by

I am planning to do my final project on archival processing, which is something that I have a lot of experience with.  I would like to focus on practical tips, basic methodology, and/or resources for those just starting out.  With genealogy gaining popularity I have encountered many people who are interested in how to preserve family papers and how to handle archival materials while conducting family history research, and I thought it might make for a good project idea.  I know that distilling this information to web site of a dozen pages will be a challenge, so I would like to focus on specifics like basic preservation, materials needed, etc.  Any thoughts/suggestions?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2011 8:13 pm

    I think geneology would work well as a focus…the info would apply to other areas of interest as well. How to preserve photos, diaries, legal documents…where to store them…scanning backip versions… I know I would be interested!

  2. October 6, 2011 7:14 am

    Jessica,

    This is a great resource I worked with recently:

    https://www.familysearch.org/learningcenter/home.html

    They have video tutorials to help people get started with genealogy research. Very cool. I was using the site to look at interpreting handwriting in German documents from the 18th-19th centuries.

  3. derek permalink
    October 13, 2011 1:46 pm

    This is a tried and true final project topic and lends itself well to an e-portfolio.

Leave a Reply

