Skip to content

it no work

September 28, 2011
by

Many students are emailing me with issues this week. A couple of simple rules to keep in mind:

  • If CSS is not there, did you check the href attribute and make it point to the path in the CSS folder?
  • SSI files have to have a *.shtml ending to make the SSI work.
  • The path to the SSI *.inc files has to be correct or the content won’t show.
  • Now might be a good time to review RELATIVE vs. ABSOLUTE file paths for those having issues:
  • “dchristiansen/student_name/includes/header.inc”
  • is NOT the SAME as
  • /dchristiansen/student_name/includes/header.inc”
  • The first example says there’s an entire duplicate path in the student directory, while the second says look in the includes directory in the student folder in derek’s folder on senna. One character throws a spanner into the works!
4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2011 11:49 am

    LOL! The main issue I ran into was with uploading the changed files into the wrong folders. Essentially I was so used to just uploading everything into the one folder, I had to train myself to make sure I was pointed to the right target folder before uploading into the new folder structure. In other words, when I made a change to the .css file as well as the assignment (.shtml) file, I had to make sure that I uploaded the .css file to the “css” folder and the assignment to the “assignments” folder. Prior to the folder change, I would just upload all the new files at the same time. I wound up with three instances of the .css file in different locations on senna before I finally got in the habit of verifying the target folder.

  2. derek permalink
    September 30, 2011 12:10 pm

    Ah Grasshopper, you understand the motive to “wax on, wax off”! Enlightenment is at hand.

  3. September 30, 2011 7:47 pm

    My big stumbling block this week:
    I didn’t realize my styles were cascading the wrong way–crashing more like. If you specify a background color for cells (td) then a background color for columns (col) won’t work.

    • September 30, 2011 8:04 pm

      Oh and also, I sometimes validate the HTML and then validate the CSS of the validation results page. Surprise! It’s perfect! Of course…

Leave a Reply

