Skip to content

Wk4 ?s

September 14, 2011

I just want to make sure that I have the assignment clarified so that I am doing the right thing here. I don’t want to lose points because I forgot something little!

So it’s my understanding that each paragraph has have the font-family, size, weight, color in hex., background, line-height, margin, and padding defined.
Also, paragraph 1 should have all this defined in a separate CSS, paragraph 2 in an embedded style sheet, and paragraph 3 inline. I’m ok with this part. Here is where I get confused:

Do I need to have different font, color, etc. for each h, p, and span element in each of the paragraphs? As in, I can’t just override two elements using span, I have to override all of the selectors for one or two words in the paragraph? And does each h, p have to different as well? Or is it that all h (h1,h2,h3) can have the same selectors, but that can’t be the same as the p element?

The p, h, and span element just need to be defined in each paragraph or do they also need to be defined in separate manners (eg, paragraph 1 have a span element in a separate CSS). I’m confused because I don’t think that’s possible? Could be wrong…my brain is starting to melt out my ears at this point…

Sorry for all the questions. I wasn’t sure if this was grounds for posting on the Blog either, but if you’d like, I’d be happy to.

Thanks for the help in advance and I’m sorry if it sounds a little convoluted…I’m confused đŸ™‚

One Comment leave one →
  1. derek permalink
    September 14, 2011 6:12 pm

    Answers to confusion:

    yes, each of the three should be easily recognizable as different from the other so I can (at a glance) note that you’ve styled each as an entity unto itself (h, p, span elements all should have a different font, size, background, etc.).

    The method for making them “separate” is to give class or id attributes to the element in question. This means at least a class rule and an id rule for both the external style and the embedded style.

    Read the directions carefully, slowly, many times, and then do each bit sequentially. Trying to do all this at once is sure to overwhelm; doing one paragraph (w/corresponding span and h elements) is best.

    As for the span, it is to override the CSS of the parent element (whether that CSS comes from embedded, external or inline style).

    The only conceptual part is that class and id cannot be used in an inline context so by definition paragraph 3 needs to be defined inline and then a child span element needs inline style to override that parent definition.

    Also, the simplest way to do this is to give each and every element in paragraphs I & II an id or class and then define those attributes with a definite rule as demonstrated in the recorded lecture. This actually makes some of the requirements redundant.

Leave a Reply

