Skip to content

i’m on a mac…

August 28, 2011
by

(derek – copying from an email I just sent, so feel free to ignore that one.)

I’ve submitted my assignment #1 but had one fairly large question:

A lot of what you show in Elluminate is for PC’s – I’m on a Mac a found that I needed to trial & error my way around to get the desired result. It doesn’t seem to be similar, so I’m wondering if for future lectures you’ll also show Mac examples of the entire process, or should I ask for a tutorial either after the lecture or privately? Again, I connected to senna and created my txt file/page, but couldn’t figure out how to get my Elemented screenshot to save correctly to the txt file, so the page you’ll view has the broken picture-picture on it.

I would like to know how to do this for future submissions – getting a picture to my webpage I’m assuming is pretty key – so please let me know when you get a chance. if anyone else has tips – I’m listening. or, refreshing.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. derek permalink
    August 28, 2011 5:35 pm

    Just so everyone can understand this issue: the client machine you work on is irrelevant to our work. We are focused on the server and its OS.

    Also, the Extra Credit stuff is always a reach and will always be revisited later in the course. If you miss/don’t get it, don’t worry. We’ll do it again and again.

    🙂

  2. August 28, 2011 6:14 pm

    Hi Alison, I am also on a Mac.

    I am not sure where you are in the process…I have three tips for you.

    1. The code tells the HTML page to go out and get an image file and display it in that place (more or less).

    2. Use the same FTP process you used to put your HTML file on the server to put your image file on the server (in the same folder to keep it simple).

    3. The image file name in the HTML code and the file name on the server have to match (a mistake that happens often). If the HTML and image are in the same folder on the server, the HTML will know to look in the same folder for an image by that name.

    Will check in later or you can try IM…I haven’t used the Blackboard IM yet but have it installed.

    • August 28, 2011 6:18 pm

      I apologize…I read but did not process that you had turned it in already. You can still play around with it for next time.

      • August 28, 2011 6:22 pm

        Hi Justine – thanks so much, that’s a really great reminder & I am going to go through all those steps again. I did turn it in, but now I just want to make the thing work. 🙂

Leave a Reply

