Skip to content

Hello, Classmates!

August 28, 2011

Hi everybody!  My name is Sara Proctor.  I was born and raised in Austin, but I currently live in Los Angeles with my husband and two cats.  So far I have completed 19 units toward my MLIS.  I work full time as a library assistant, so it’s been slow going.  I’m hoping to graduate in Fall 2012– sooner if I can resolve to take a summer semester or two.  I don’t have any web developing experience, but I’m excited to get started.  A fun fact about me is that I am currently hooked on the Song of Fire and Ice series (Game of Thrones).  Obsessed.

And since we’re posting pictures of our cats, may I present Nemo:

8 Comments leave one →
  1. derek permalink
    August 28, 2011 10:30 am

    Welcome aboard! Is that a Photoshop of Nemo in the box?

  2. August 28, 2011 11:57 am

    LOL I wish I could take credit, but he made that happen all by himself. He wants to be like Maru: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2XID_W4neJo

  3. August 28, 2011 1:45 pm

    Haha! I don’t normally like cats, but that’s one adorable fur ball!

  4. derek permalink
    August 28, 2011 2:47 pm

    I love Maru.

  5. August 28, 2011 6:21 pm

    Hi Sara, I just finished Game of Thrones season 1 last night. The story seems fascinating, although I think I might save the books for when the series is finally finished. I am still waiting for the end of Wheel of Time.

    p.s. I never see cute cats like that in the catalogs!

    • August 29, 2011 6:32 pm

      Justine – I completely understand the waiting for the end of the Ice and Fire series. My cousin and I joked long ago around book seven of the Wheel of Time that Jordan better hurry and finish the series. We feared something would happen to him after we had invested all the time in reading the series with no real end in sight. Then he was diagnosed with that weird blood disease. As sad it was that he passed, I admit feeling selfish because I thought we would never know the end that Jordan had in mind.. Luckily someone is finishing up the series on Jordan’s behalf. The point is, George RR Martin takes FOREVER (it seems) between books. So it is probably a good move to wait until he finishes it. Although, the books are really good. Another good series is the Sword of Truth by Terry Goodkind. Not that we grad students have much time for pleasure reading. 🙂

      • September 1, 2011 7:45 am

        I second the recommendation for the Sword of Truth series. Too bad the live-action version of that was so cheesy…HBO needs to take it over! For another great Fantasy series, try Patrick Rothfuss’s Name of the Wind. I’m loving it. PW’s starred reviews are usually spot-on.

  6. derek permalink
    September 1, 2011 8:06 am

    I liked fantasy for a long time but no longer read it; my all-time fav is Chronicles of Thomas Covenant The Unbeliever.

Leave a Reply

