Skip to content

derek intro

August 25, 2011
by

I went through this program from Fall 2006 – Fall 2008. I first taught 240 in Spring of 2009. I was the graduate assistant to the web technologist (Heather Ebey, my mentor) beginning Fall 2007 until I graduated. As a student I wrote the greensheets CMS as a 298 special project and developed many of the web applications used by SLIS. Right now I support the web technologist and will takeover the position full-time beginning Oct 15 when she retires. Of the 4 graduate assistants we currently employ (that’s right, there’s money to be earned here) 2 are former students of mine. If you are interested, spots usually open at the end of each semester and a student’s performance in 240 is an audition. Other info about my history prior to SLIS is available in my CV and on my bio page.

Fun facts about me: I have 5 cats, 2 teenagers, and was a telecommuter before it was well-known what that meant. I love to laugh and have a twisted sense of humor.

Lastly, I am NOT a professor, do not possess a doctorate, and have not earned the right to be called by any title other than Mister. I prefer derek (note lowercase). As you can probably guess I’m not big on appearances or titles. What matters to me is the essence of things, the nitty-gritty. Also, I’m practical and prefer what works to what is perfect or aesthetically pleasing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

