Skip to content

welcome to wherever we are

August 25, 2011

Hi everyone!

I’m Alison, living in Crockett CA, just outside San Francisco but much more interestingly, a stones throw from Napa wineland.  In honor of that, I’m collecting wine club memberships, champagne cellars only, and so if you ever visit – free tastings!

This is my 2nd semester in the program, 10 units completed so far, and I’ll most likely graduate in Spring 2013.  I work full time and quickly realized that a heavy course load is not in my best interest, so I’m picking a little on the reference side, a little on the web side to get a hopefully well-rounded LIS education. My secret ambition is to usurp the IT despots at my company – a two-man group I really like but who, frustratingly, don’t always consider the experience from the side of the user, and then I deal with the backlash. So I don’t have any experience in web design/programming as of now, looking to learn whatever I can. I also have a mfa in creative writing, and I think a merging of the writing/LIS fields is just about perfection. And, now that I’m back on WordPress, perhaps the blogging can begin again.

See you soon,

Alison

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2011 7:05 pm

    Good to “see” you Alison. Having worked in IT, I have seen a number of techies who simply can’t communicate with the end user. So I get your frustration. I always tried to bridge that communication gap back in my IT days. It’s an important and valuable skill to have! Good luck this semester!

    • August 25, 2011 8:41 pm

      lovely to see you too shawn! i’m drinking h2o from my Sugartown Festival pint-glass as i type. 🙂

      forgot you were on the other end of the IT divide. I really do love you guys, and after tonight I’ll add even more respect to that.

      talk to you soon!

      • August 26, 2011 6:52 pm

        Funny! We just “water” in our Sugartown Festival glasses as well. Hey, what champagne cellars do you visit?

  2. derek permalink
    August 25, 2011 8:35 pm

    Welcome aboard! The MFA is cool. My wife has one in poetry, how about you?

    • August 25, 2011 8:43 pm

      mine is nonfiction; which i got to after poetry and fiction. i looooove poetry but find i have to be in just the right mood to write it (well), whereas with nonfiction, it’s just whatever’s going on at the moment.

      off to let my brain unmelt a bit.

  3. August 25, 2011 9:16 pm

    Hi Allison,

    I grew up just down the road from you in Berkeley and my Aunt was an English teacher for 20 years at John Swett High School in Crockett, you didn’t happen to go there did you? I love the Bay Area and especially wine country, one of my best friends from college lives in Sonoma and I try to visit as much as possible.

    I love your plan to take over your IT deptarment, while there are many fabulous IT pros (Shawn, I’m sure you were great!) I’ve definitely encountered my fair share of those that are very territorial and view the relationship between user and IT as a battle.

    Looking forward to the semester!

    – Laura

    • August 26, 2011 8:40 am

      Hi Laura,

      Happy Friday!

      You know, I actually grew up in Pasadena, down south, but came up here to Berkeley in 1996. I’ve been in Crockett about 8 years now, and don’t have kids so I’m not really familiar with anything at John Swett except the many construction projects. 🙂

      Looking forward to working with you too!

      ~Alison

Leave a Reply

