Skip to content

Student intro

August 24, 2011

Hello everyone!

My name is Melissa Stone.  I am on my second year here at SJSU and so far have completed 16 units.  I am hoping to graduate in two years though it may be closer to two and a half.  I have no programming/web development experience.  I should learn though so here I am.

A fun factoid, eh?  Well, I’m starting to learn to sea kayak.  My next step is to go out in the open ocean (freezing cold Half Moon Bay I might add) and purposefully go in the water so I can learn to get myself out…That part isn’t as fun as the ride out and back.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2011 10:32 am

    Hello, it’s nice to meet you!

    I lived (sorta) near Half-Moon Bay a while back in Boulder Creek. Not close, but I saw the signs or Half Moon Bay all the time. heh. Beautiful countryside up there and I miss it!

    Hope we all have a good time in this class!

  2. derek permalink
    August 24, 2011 11:06 am

    Welcome aboard! Sea kayaking sounds like bliss to me.

  3. August 24, 2011 11:10 am

    Hi Melissa,

    You are so brave to kayak in the open sea. You’ve reminded me how Google Maps used to pull a prank on their overseas directions, how did it go? Road by road until you come to the sea and then: kayak for approximately 2 days until you reach the destination continent.

  4. August 24, 2011 11:36 am

    Hi Melissa,

    Sea kayaking sounds like so much fun! We must live close to each other. I am currently in Mountain View.

  5. August 24, 2011 3:00 pm

    We are close! I live in San Francisco but born in San Jose so I am very familiar with Mountain View. Mostly because I always go to concerts at the Shoreline 🙂

  6. August 25, 2011 9:33 pm

    My husband and I just got a canoe, and we’ve been tooling all around the Southern California waterways (I live in LA), and it’s so much fun! Open water sea kayaking is a little more exciting, hats off to you!

Leave a Reply

