Skip to content

Peter’s Post

August 24, 2011

Hello Classmates!  I’m excited to get underway in LIBR 240, although Professor Christiansen’s first few e-mails certainly make it appear a little intimidating.  I’m up for the challenge… and for a chance to take a SLIS class with no paper requirement.  My responses to the professor’s questions are as follows:

  1. How many units have you completed toward the MLIS degree?  13 units completed; 9 more this semester.
  2. When do you expect to graduate?  Winter, 2012
  3. What sort of programming/web development experience you have (if any)?  Zero.
  4. A (few) fun factoids about you.  I have been a stay-at-home dad for my two-year old the past few years, compete in bodybuilding shows every once in a while, and just began working part-time at the State of Oregon Law Library.

I look forward to learning about this World Wide Web thing with you all this semester.

Peter

Edit: In the words of Jack Nicholson, “Well, here I am, sweetheart.”Putting it all out there...

10 Comments leave one →
  1. derek permalink
    August 24, 2011 1:51 pm

    Welcome aboard! I’m impressed with the b-building Mr. Mom stint. Any pix we kin vidi?

    • August 24, 2011 2:10 pm

      Are obnoxious spray tans and speedos acceptable content for this blog? If so…

      • derek permalink
        August 24, 2011 3:09 pm

        Totally, we (royal) need visual confirmation! 🙂

  2. renemartini permalink
    August 24, 2011 3:29 pm

    Awesome!! Hope you don’t mind me bugging you about my routine sometime! Getting back into the routine after a summer long break dealing moving in to my new house.

    How do you balance it all?

    • August 24, 2011 3:36 pm

      I’m definitely up to look at your routine and help any way I can!

      It’s definitely tough to balance the diet/training/cardio with family, school, and work. I did a show in July and plan to take some time off (of doing shows) until at least next summer when my SLIS schedule eases up. I am heading down to Lake Tahoe this weekend to watch my 61 year old friend compete.

      Where are you located? Do you have any shows planned?

      -Peter

  3. August 24, 2011 3:55 pm

    Body Building Law Librarian. You should be the coverboy for the SLIS site!

  4. August 24, 2011 7:56 pm

    No Conan the Librarian jokes yet? I guess I’ll get it out of the way.

    Your daughter must love getting underdog pushes from you at the playground.

    • August 24, 2011 8:50 pm

      Hello Justine,

      I’m a slow learner in the field of advanced swing pushing technique; I’d never heard/seen an underdog push until a few weeks ago. Life hasn’t been the same for my daughter since.

      Peter

  5. August 26, 2011 6:31 am

    Always nice to meet a fellow athlete. Good going!

Leave a Reply

