Skip to content

Hello, World!

August 24, 2011
by

Hi,

My name is Jen. I have currently completed 10 credits towards my MLIS degree. I am hoping that I will be able to complete by the spring of 2013, but that depends on when I can start taking classes full time 8). I don’t have really have any programming experience except learning basic C programming in high school years ago and learning how to write the standard Hello, world program in a couple of languages (Perl and Python). I do have experience working in a UNIX environment, which looks like it will be helpful.

In my free time, I like to bake and decorate cakes. I currently volunteer for an organization called Cake4kids (www.cake4kids.org) that makes birthday cakes for kids in foster care and at risk youth, which is a lot of fun.

Looking forward to this semester,

Jen

4 Comments leave one →
  1. derek permalink
    August 24, 2011 12:09 pm

    Welcome aboard! The cake thing is so neato; it can be the all the difference in the world.

  2. August 24, 2011 12:56 pm

    How did you get involved in volunteer cake baking? Do you cook at home or with other people? So interesting!

    • August 24, 2011 1:43 pm

      Well it is kind of an interesting story… I started baking in graduate school. One week everyone in our lab was having a run of bad luck with experiments so one of my labmates suggested we should have a bake-off. (Maybe I should also mention that at the time our lab was all women.) This set off a series of bake-offs every couple of months for several years. We became pretty famous in our building for this and people would stop us in the elevator to ask us when the next one would be.

      More recently I took some cake decorating classes and found out about cake4kids through one of my friends who saw it on a parenting group she belongs to. It is a really great organization. Apparently the original organziation was founded in Georgia a couple of years ago, and there is a great story behind on the cake4kids.org site.

      I really believe in what they do. When I was growing up we always looked forward to birthdays because we got to pick our favorite dinner and cake. and Mom would whip it up for us. So it was always something that made us feel special.

      I usually bake alone though cake4kids does offer occasional classes for decorating.

  3. August 24, 2011 1:02 pm

    Cake4kids sounds really cool. I am hoping to get more involved in community things once my youngest is a bit older. It’s always interesting to hear what others are involved in! Kudos to you!

Leave a Reply

