Skip to content

Hello Web World!

August 24, 2011
by

Hello All!

My name is Katie Thompson and this is my second year in the SLIS program.  I have 13 units under my belt and am looking forward to another semester.  I anticipate graduating Spring 2013 but we’ll see…

I have  no programming or development experience but have interacted extensively with various IT departments and have managed an online bookstore in the past (simply fulfilled orders…did not create any content).

I have recently uprooted my life and moved from northern California to Salt Lake City, Utah.  I sold most of my most my belongings, quit my job as bookstore manager this summer and arrived in Utah this week via my 2002 Kia Rio Cinco.  It’s quite a culture shock but like this course, I’m up for the challenge!

Looking forward to learning and working with you all!

Cheers-

Katie

PS: This ain’t no body building but it took a lot of muscle to cram my life into this car!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. derek permalink
    August 24, 2011 5:14 pm

    Welcome aboard! Just spent a week touring UT, ID and Montana. Bravo to you.

  2. August 24, 2011 7:37 pm

    Hey Katie, best of luck to you in your move. My mom and sister did the same thing a few years ago…Wisconsin to Ogden…and are very happy out there.

  3. August 24, 2011 8:42 pm

    Katie,

    Good luck in Utah. I love your station wagon, and station wagons in general.

    Peter

  4. rebeccastavick permalink
    August 26, 2011 6:33 am

    I know it must be difficult to get rid of so many of your belongings, but it’s very therapeutic too, isn’t it? I’m currently trying to get rid of some of my stuff too… it’s just nice to not feel weighed down by junk.

    I hope you love your new life in Utah!

    Rebecca

  5. August 26, 2011 9:42 pm

    I agree with Rebecca. After moving around so much, I’ve learned to detach myself from all but my most treasures possessions. It can be therapeutic to get rid of the non essential stuff. You’ll find you live better with less sometimes. You may even realize you don’t miss as much of your old life, surroundings as you thought you would. Also, you can’t beat the excitement of exploring new places and living new experiences!

    Best of luck to you!!
    carmen

  6. August 27, 2011 12:00 am

    I’m glad to see that I have another class with you! I hope you are enjoying your new home 🙂

  7. August 28, 2011 12:38 pm

    What a brave move to make, it must have taken a ton of guts to not only give away any possession that didn’t fit into wagon, but then to move to another state. You have my admiration.

Leave a Reply

