Skip to content

Hello from Sebastopol, CA…

August 24, 2011

Home of the Gravenstein apple, between Santa Rosa and Bodega, north of San Francisco. My daughter started kindergarten yesterday and is loving it so far…and here I am starting my third semester (ten units down…). We bought matching lunchboxes and she wants us to pack the same lunch when I start working at the local branch library next week (20 hours / week on the circ desk). I am also taking 248 Basic Cataloging this semester. I am not sure when I will finish the program. 2013 or 2014? Boy, that is the FUTURE!

I built my first website and online courses in 1998. Sadly, my knowledge is about that out of date.  I have done a lot of website maintenance and publishing so can copy and paste/edit other people’s code. I got out of the WYSIWYG habit a long time ago so am used to reading code. I look forward to writing more of my own and finally adding a style sheet to http://www.sandyboucher.net. I cringe every time I add a font tag. So bad.

Fun factoid: I saw Matisse’s Goldfish at the State Pushkin Museum in Moscow in 1992, then again in Los Angeles in 2003. So I am daydreaming about visiting it again in 2014.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. derek permalink
    August 24, 2011 10:41 pm

    Welcome aboard! My first library job was as a 20 hr clerk in Ladera Ranch. The circ desk is most fun in the library.

  2. August 25, 2011 9:18 am

    Hi Justine! I’m taking 248 this semester, too! Congrats on the new job and your daughter starting kindergarten. How does she like it so far? My middle son just started first grade and is loving it so far.

  3. August 25, 2011 3:42 pm

    Hey Justine-
    I used to live in Santa Rosa and worked for Copperfield’s Books in Sebastopol for a while! Looking forward to working with you this semester.
    -Katie

  4. August 26, 2011 9:34 pm

    Hi Justine! i took the beginning cataloging course not long ago-can’t stress enough the importance of forming a work group with others in the class. It made all the difference to me.

    Good luck!

  5. August 28, 2011 10:40 am

    I agree that the circ desk is the most exciting spot in the library. Seeing new faces and interacting with patrons is my favorite part library work. Good luck in your new job!

  6. August 28, 2011 12:50 pm

    The website looks pretty impressive from my point of view!

Leave a Reply

