Skip to content

Greetings and Salutations

August 24, 2011
by

Hello, My name is Jeffrey Sabol and I live in Lawndale CA.  Don’t know where Lawndale is?  It is a very small town near the Los Angeles airport and most people simply drive by without ever noticing it.

How many many units have you completed toward the MLIS degree?  I have completed 29 units toward my MLIS degree

When do you expect to graduate?  This Spring

What sort of programming/web development experience you have (if any)?  I have zero experience with programming or web development but I have always wanted to learn so here I am, excited for this class to begin and up for the challenge.

A fun factoid about myself is that although I live in a city, I have four chickens in my backyard and a garden in the front.  The names of the chickens are David Foster Wallace, Princess Tiana, Rebbecca and Amber (the last three were named by my niece).

12 Comments leave one →
  1. derek permalink
    August 24, 2011 10:39 pm

    Welcome aboard! Chickens? So totally kewl.

  2. August 25, 2011 12:55 am

    Is the chicken Princess Tiana named after The Princess and the Frog? My girlfriend loves that movie!

    • August 28, 2011 12:40 pm

      I believe so, I was not aware of where the names came from before I read the comments on my post, so I asked my niece’s dad (my brother) and he acted like it was impossible for me not to know.

  3. August 25, 2011 9:16 am

    Hi Jeff! Sounds like you’ve created a nice urban oasis for yourself! How do the chickens do with the airplane noises?

    • August 28, 2011 12:42 pm

      Chicken are loud and will eat everything pretty much every living plant, so the planes actually drown out the chickens. But you really can’t beat fresh eggs every morning.

  4. August 25, 2011 2:50 pm

    Aw, a Charlotte’s Web reference. 🙂 I was just talking about that book with a co-worker, who had a fun experience of baby spiders lowering themselves onto her face as she slept the other night. Good times.

  5. August 25, 2011 9:20 pm

    Love the chicken names! I have a friend who has two llamas and they are named Como Se and Lorenzo, which are my all time favorite pet names. I, on the other hand, have a dog named Rusty, so I think I could take lessons from you in creativity.

  6. rebeccastavick permalink
    August 26, 2011 6:28 am

    I agree – your chicken’s names are awesome. I used to have 2 tiny African dwarf frogs who I named Snoop Frog and Billy Frog Thornton.

  7. Victoria permalink
    August 26, 2011 5:08 pm

    Congrats on graduating this Spring! Hope your classes go well this semester!

    ~Victoria

  8. August 27, 2011 8:22 pm

    My first reaction to this post was you live in Lawndale, like Daria?!?!?
    Awesome chicken names!

    • August 28, 2011 12:45 pm

      I always forget about the Daria reference for some reason, and it brings a smile to my face when somebody points it out.

Leave a Reply

