Skip to content

First-Day Introduction

August 24, 2011

Hi, my name is Dominique.

I’ve completed 25 credit hours towards my degree (took classes through the summer, too–it feels good to start new ones, and I’m so glad to be back on the 15-wk track, but I’ve got no delusions now about how intense the fall semester will be). If I am able to keep full-time hours like I want to I will be done with this program next spring!

I do not have any formal programming or web design experience. I have tinkered here and there on a superficial level, but consider myself an extreme novice. One of my classes this summer was Online Searching. It helped me to see how much goes on “under the hood” of technology and I am interested in learning about information architecture much more in depth.

As far as having fun goes, I cook all our meals from scratch (my roommates enjoy cooking, too). Last weekend my mom and I made homemade pierogies after being inspired by a show on Food Network. They turned out not bad at all. In the rest of my spare time you will never find me without a book. I read English and German and would love to have the time to learn other languages.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2011 10:46 am

    Cooking is such a lost art on people these days so I find great joy in hearing that you cook all your meals from scratch. As far as your experience goes, tinkering around is how you start in my opinion and go from there. Books and being told what to do only does part of it; you’ve got to mess it up on your own to really get it. I hope you learn much in this class as I will.

  2. derek permalink
    August 24, 2011 10:59 am

    Welcome! I’m a Mr. Mom and cook most of my family’s meals. I most enjoy BBQ/grilling but also Italian red sauces, etc.

  3. August 24, 2011 12:43 pm

    I am a foodie too, only I don’t enjoy cooking as much as eating! I am taking Online Searching this semester and glad to hear it is worth it! 😉 Looking forward to the semester.

Leave a Reply

