Skip to content

Purdue Oral History Project

April 8, 2011

Browsing online, I came across this website for the Purdue University Libraries’ Oral History Program.  They have recorded some video interviews and some simply audio of people associated with the university and posted some of them on their website.  The interviews ask the interviewees to recount their lives, including their relationship with the school.  I listened to a few and found them to be very interesting.

I see programs like this to be a great way to preserve people’s memories.  I really like the fact that they are available to the public online.  They also have cataloging data about all of the interviews and a written transcript that makes them more accessible.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2011 12:30 pm

    Oh, this is awesome! I’m really fascinated by oral histories, and I love how this program is organized. Thank you so much for sharing it!

  2. April 8, 2011 2:38 pm

    I’m glad that more universities and museums are undertaking this massive goal of recording oral and video histories. I always wish I could remember more of the stories my grandparents told me but now that they are gone, their stories are as well. I have started to consider asking my parents to participate in such an endeavor.

  3. April 8, 2011 3:53 pm

    History is my first love, so I naturally love that they are doing this. Not only is this good for history and preservation, but it gives the interviewees a sense that their story is worth telling and worth listening too. Thanks!

  4. April 8, 2011 5:40 pm

    I agree, History is one of the things I love since I am specializing in Archives. I like how it is well organized and formed. It was worth listening too. It was awesome.

  5. Stephanie Hardy permalink
    April 8, 2011 8:09 pm

    Oral History projects, like Purdue’s, are such a great way to preserve memories. There is so much personality and immediacy that is captured by oral history. It’s a completely different feel than reading an account, even if it is by the same person. Thanks for the link- it is a really well done history.

  6. Allacyn Griffin-May permalink
    April 8, 2011 11:08 pm

    That is a really neat idea. Oral history and stories have been passed down for generations and now with technology we have a way to preserve that and I think that is a really neat idea.

  7. Brandy Royce permalink
    April 9, 2011 1:06 am

    Today there are many universities that are starting oral history projects so that they can put together a history of the univeristy told by the students and faculties. I believe that oral histories are a great way for history to come alive. I worked on oral histories projects while a undergrad and the things that I learned I would have not found in a history book.

Leave a Reply

