Skip to content

Final Project Idea for MilnerS sprg 2011

March 18, 2011

I have had a difficult time deciding what to create as a final project for this class. I had the idea of making a website about one of my favorite librarians: Marcel DuChamp, however, I don’t know that that would be reflective enough of the library science aspect I am looking for. Then I thought about banned books, childrens books, childrens banned books, special collections, I think what I would like to do ultimately is a site that reviews self-published books. With the dwindled number of independently run bookstores there are fewer opportunities for new or independently published authors to be professionally reviewed (not that I am a professional reviewer by any means) it would be really great to offer another forum (as there are several that exist) for them to have a voice. Book reviews are an incredibly important tool for libraries as it offers another way to sift through so many titles and decide which ones to purchase and which ones to pass on.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. clementmunns permalink
    March 18, 2011 11:38 pm

    I would suggest maybe doing it on the topic of how important reviews and reviewers are to collection development, or maybe just on the topic of collection development for a specific clientele.

  2. Stephanie MIlner permalink
    April 3, 2011 6:06 pm

    Hi Thanks Derek, I like both of your suggestions if you don’t mind I would like to use your idea of collection development for specific clientele, that sounds fun, I would like to look at the possibility of the specific clientele being local collection development.

Leave a Reply

