Skip to content

Uncertainty

March 11, 2011

I’m really not sure what the best topic for my final project would be, and I’m a little embarrassed with everyone else having such great ideas and I feel as though mine are a bit simple or off topic.  I thought at first to do something on alternatives to piracy, skewed to an audience of teenagers, as I don’t feel that group really understands copyright or the other options out there when it comes to getting media via the internet.  Another idea I had was again skewed towards teenagers and would lead them through how to do their first research paper.  My third thought was a reader’s advisory with a YA or scifi/fantasy bent, as that’s what I know well.  Any thoughts or input are very much welcome.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2011 1:00 pm

    My vote is for the first two since I read another student’s post that had a YA fantasy focus. I agree that teens don’t understand online copyright rules – but adults don’t either (or they just ignore it). And I know that at least middle schoolers (pre-teens, if you will) need guidance when it comes to doing a “real” research paper. I think plagiarism is a big problem – both intentional and unintentional.

  2. clementmunns permalink
    March 17, 2011 10:38 am

    A good idea! Might I suggest a narrowing to “why copyright is important” aimed at YA audience.

Leave a Reply

