Skip to content

Personal Archiving or Professional Development

March 11, 2011

For my final project, I was thinking about a few topics that interest me.   My first topic of interest would be digital preservation and personal archiving.  It seems like a majority of the public do not know what options they have for backing up their digital materials.  Information on my website could include companies that offer online storage, and tips on how to back-up.

Another idea is a website devoted to information about professional development in the library and information community.  This information could be divided into which setting the individual works in such as archival, academic, or public.  Then they could find information on what professional development opportunities are available in their field; this can includes webinars, professional journals, and conferences.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 14, 2011 12:53 pm

    As an amateur genealogist (in my spare time), I would love to see more about personal archiving. The Library of Congress Web site has a bit and there are blogs, but the more I can read about this, the better – especially anything about scanning (resolution, file type).

    I think the professional development focus might be too big, but it’s also a really good idea.

Leave a Reply

