Skip to content

Human Computer Interaction

March 10, 2011
by

As I may have mentioned, I was raised by a computer geek (my father) and I live with a computer geek now (my fiance).  So I have a healthy interest in computers and I think I’d like to know a bit more about where human computer interaction is going these days.  I’ll try to keep it connected to libraries as much as possible – research relating to accessibility, like we covered in Week 6, will probably help with that.  Does anyone else have suggestions for narrowing/focusing on libraries?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2011 9:54 am

    This sounds like a good project. It seems that there is a lot of research in the area of human-computer interaction. Maybe you could look into how new technologies are being affected by the movement toward real-time collaboration in libraries. How does the technology need to advance to be effective in facilitating human-human interaction in libraries?

  2. March 11, 2011 11:40 am

    Maybe you could explore libraries in Second Life – how does that kind of human computer interaction benefit (or not) people communicating in reality in the library setting? You could also focus on a certain segment of the population (kids, seniors, teens).

    Ever since Derek brought up this topic, I have had it swirling in my brain. It appeals to the geekness in me, too, I guess…

  3. clementmunns permalink
    March 18, 2011 10:34 pm

    Great stuff; I’m eager to see what you do.

Leave a Reply

