Skip to content

Forms

March 9, 2011

Forms and accessibility and user interaction. The concept of “don’t make me thinks” does not seem to go with the forms and security issues filling out forms. How many people don’t feel out the forms to web sites because of these issues. For example, Can the advanced search on OPAC be considered a form? For instance, there are many times I have avoided websites because of the forms they desired me to enter. The most recent, I was trying to get transcripts from a school I went to and to get passed the first page I had to fill out a form. I ended up just calling by phone and upsetting IT. It was mentioned that forms make the internet interactive between a site and a user. The form can be the first point of contact between a web site and a user. I see this as being one aspect of the human/machine interface or reference librarian/patron interaction. There is the do-it-yourself approach people like, but as long as it simple, then there is getting to the reference librarian without the complicated form via the internet. I am exploring information seeking behavior and 240 is adding accessibilty into the equation. Should there be a form critique or do they exist. It is great to have an easily navigatable web site, but if you need to fill out a form boom!!! knee deep in e-paper work.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2011 10:09 am

    I feel your pain… I was actually a forms designer at one time – albeit for collecting clinical data, but they were paper forms nonetheless. Yes, there really are “good” forms and “bad” forms, and the ones that appear online are probably no different in terms of what humans like or don’t. However, the dangerous dynamic between input that can mangle a server and output to the user adds a whole scary dimension to forms design. In clinical research, we used the patient’s initials and date of birth instead of their name to identify someone, and that was the extent of “secure data.”

    If you find any studies on this, I would be uniquely interested in finding out the results.

  2. March 10, 2011 1:00 pm

    I had a paper by a person named Nicholas Belkin he was interested in the human interface between the user and data base or the user and the reference librarian. A form will be a third person. For instance, reference questions via e-mail. The is natural language use and controlled vocabulary = forms. Throwing my limited math concept there should be a Nash equilibrium that masimizes the both on a form. Anyway, If I find something very interesting, which will probably be very boring, I will e-mail it to you.

  3. clementmunns permalink
    March 17, 2011 12:32 pm

    Sounds promising to me.

Leave a Reply

