Skip to content

[e]Health Literacy

March 9, 2011
by

Health literacy is a term that was coined about 10 years ago to describe the specialized type of information literacy that applies only to health information. I did a paper on the opportunities for public libraries to improve teen health literacy for my LIBR 200 class, so I’d like to continue on that theme for my final project for this class – maybe branching out to include resources for eHealth Literacy (the Internet version) and Public Health Literacy (which is more focused on groups). I was also really intrigued by the concept of Cultural Competence that nurses and physicians are supposed to have in order to provide adequate health care, so I might try to bring that in too and see how it applies to how Web sites provide health information – or maybe that’s a topic all on its own? What do you all think?

Thanks in advance for your feedback!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Daniela permalink
    March 9, 2011 5:03 pm

    This seems a worthy and interesting project, especially given the intricacies and pitfalls of our health care system.

  2. Madeleine permalink
    March 10, 2011 7:41 pm

    So would you be looking at things like consumer health websites? We did a couple of weeks on that in my medical librarianship class.

  3. March 11, 2011 12:03 pm

    Yes, I was hoping to provide links to various consumer health Web sites and give my [limited basis] opinion on the level of health literacy required to get the most out of each. I was also hoping to provide information about library programming geared specifically towards improving health literacy, and also dig up what’s in the national and California teaching standards (because that’s my home state) at the various grade levels – if anything. I’m most interested in teens access, so I will probably stick with that population lest the project scope get too huge for me to handle.

    Actually it’s all kind of a vague notion for me at this point, but I’m absolutely open to suggestions and specific ideas that you would like to see in my site. Thanks!

  4. clementmunns permalink
    March 17, 2011 11:56 pm

    Great!

Leave a Reply

