Skip to content

Second Life? Meh.

November 30, 2010
by

I am not a particular fan of Second Life. I played enough computer games to be able to move around quickly and effectively (more or less), but it still seems to take far too long to do anything there. I’d much prefer to go to a website and read materials, experience media, and chat with others without all of the trappings of virtual reality. However, this is just a personal preference, and I have to admit that I did have a bit of fun flying around like an idiot and seeing what others were building and doing, and playing with the world’s physics by creating a large round stone and rolling it around.

Perhaps what I perceived to be clunky annoyances in the interface are largely due to my inexperience using them (or to the fact that I had to use the older version of the software because of an undiagnosable incompatibility), but since I don’t see that Second Life actually makes finding or doing things easier, I don’t expect to return to it soon. On the other hand, maybe I missed something. I’ll have to read about the others’ experiences before making a final judgment.

One Comment leave one →
  1. clementmunns permalink
    December 4, 2010 5:01 pm

    I don’t think you missed anything at all; a major complaint from those with gaming experience is the interface and controls which are substandard and counter-intuitive. If it made you think about HCI, then I’m happy.

Leave a Reply

