Skip to content

Second Life Experience

November 30, 2010

The SL (Second Life) experience is the closest I’ve ever come to experiencing an acid trip. The world is bizarre and populated with some very odd-looking citizens. It is even more unsettling to see my respected instructor with bubbles pouring out of his head running in circles and yelling “OH MY GOD” over and over again hysterically.
I do believe that virtual worlds have a great deal to offer, but I am still trying to get used to navigating SL. I found a very interesting Tudor village and got a free demo horse to ride, but now I can’t find my way back. I attended the required class, but with my schedule it was a completely impractical one on role-playing. Even more peculiar, it was taught by a demon and a dragon. I ended up sitting next to a vampire. This was a very freaky experience.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2010 5:58 am

    Trust me, it does get easier. Being willing to keep logging in and gain experience is all part of learning to love Second Life. And then you start meeting people, like I do at the Blarney Stone or at some of the dance clubs, and you can develop excellent friendships. (And, of course, there’s the clothes!)

  2. December 1, 2010 6:07 am

    Oh, if you’re curious about what goes on or can go on, check out the other blogs, such as my own (grin), which is a mixture of news and lifestyle, heavy on my personal experiences and travels. Just click on my name to get there. For a more purely news-oriented view, to to Hamlet Au’s New World Notes. Wagner covers not just Second Life, but several other virtual worlds as well (OpenSim, Blue Mars, etc.).

    Last, greetings from a library-science grad in real life, since that is how I interpret your class number up above.

  3. clementmunns permalink
    December 4, 2010 3:53 pm

    The ability to be very weird and outlandish and childish is one of my favorite things about SL; it’s all groovy, man.

Leave a Reply

