Skip to content

Second Life

November 30, 2010

I like the idea behind Second Life, but while in Second Life I always get confused and over stimulated. There is just way too much going on. I have the instant feeling of being lost and have no idea what I am supposed to do, where I should go, what is there to do, why is my avatar moving forward when I’m not pressing any buttons (lag). I think I would have a much better experience if I had a faster computer. I feel that it takes a good amount of hardware/internet connection to really get things going smooth. All I see is unformed landscapes, which I thought were beaches, but as I wait a few seconds, great structures slowly develop. I had this problem finding the fountain because I saw water in the distance, then when I followed the map, I found that those landscapes were not processed yet, and that is why I wasn’t seeing them. So, I like the idea of Second Life, but I feel like my computer could use a bit more horsepower to muscle through the huge amount of graphics.

One Comment leave one →
  1. clementmunns permalink
    December 8, 2010 9:10 am

    Yes, and the hardware requirements become ever more demanding in spite of the act that interface is less than cutting edge.

Leave a Reply

