Skip to content

Lost in Second Life

November 30, 2010

What a nightmare! I spent some time Sunday, creating my avatar, looking around and taking my snapshot. Then Monday night  I somehow put myself into front view mode.    I couldn’t see where I was going.  I could only see myself going places.  I used the coordinates to go to SLIS Land. A group of us waited around for a while, then someone said “Derek is in the 246 area”. Everyone took off.  I chased after but since I couldn’t see where I was going I didn’t recognize where I was.  I passed the large picture of the lady several times but never could see the 246 sign.  Landmarks appear and disappear as you walk.  Some never really materialize. I ran into Slinging_books at 8:30. She said that she thought Derek had left, but I could take a picture with her.  I did. Then I watched myself walk and fly around, got stuck in a giant fishbowl, until I saw  Cfolk  who was building a giant snowman.  He let me take a snapshot with him. I always find people so kind when I travel in foreign lands.  I am not seeing the great value of second life.   I don’t accept that experiences of pretending in second life or of creating meaningless group projects to practice working as a team translate to real life work skills.  It does not jibe with my working experience.  It wasn’t until today that I realized what I had done, and why I couldn’t see.  I revisited tonight, and easily found the 246 area, one day late.

One Comment leave one →
  1. clementmunns permalink
    December 4, 2010 1:39 pm

    lol! Nothing like pure frustration to sharpen the senses and bring out primal emotions!

Leave a Reply

