Skip to content

Adventures in Second Life

November 30, 2010

The first time I experienced Second Life, I was not that impressed.  However, I think I had a bit more fun with it during this assignment.  I find the movement to be a bit restrictive.  Most video games have mastered better movement, though this may be more realistic — aside from the flying bit.  From an educational standpoint, I see real potential in second life, though I think that at its current stage it is still in its infancy and has a ways to go.  I think there is real value in the feeling of actually “being somewhere” in an educational environment.  I find myself more productive and involved in an actual classroom as opposed to internet courses, such as this program.  Perhaps Second Life is a way to fulfill that desire to be involved and connected.

Building in second life, on the other hand, was quite a task.  I found constructing in a three dimensional environment to be really hard.  I am dumbfounded by the creations people have made in this world.

One Comment leave one →
  1. clementmunns permalink
    December 8, 2010 9:13 am

    Agreed on all accounts; the time invested in the structures is a good example of the reverse tragedy of the commons of cyberspace.

Leave a Reply

