Skip to content

Getting a Second Life

November 29, 2010

I had the SL viewer installed on my computer from when I was in LIBR203, but it was such a frustrating experience that I never visited SL again, until now.  After the first time I entered SL I came out bald wearing a skirt and pants!  After a lot of trial and error this week my avatar is presentable once more.  This time around I also encountered computer problems with the new viewer.  After the new viewer was installed and I adjusted my camera settings things slowed way down in SL, and my Internet and Word 2007 acted really buggy.  After a few days I uninstalled the new viewer and went back to the 1.23 viewer, and everything worked just fine.

I liked taking the pictures, making the objects, and making the t-shirt.  I got a template for the t-shirt  from http://sl.nmc.org/wiki/NMC2007_Hit_The_Ground_Running and decorated it in PSE following the instructions from a slideshare  at http://www.slideshare.net/trottahe/making-a-tshirt-in-second-life.  As far as using SL for the library I think it would be a useful tool to have in the arsenal for marketing library services if patrons are into it, and will use it to meet their reference needs.

Personally, I just don’t have time to play around in Second Life.  Recently, one of my friends on Facebook posted this status:  I’m on the Facebook diet, I’ve already lost 2 hours!”  That’s how I feel about SL.  I envy those who have time to spend in SL because its uber-cool, but I don’t forsee spending much time there.  I’m too busy in my Real Life.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. clementmunns permalink
    December 8, 2010 9:16 am

    Another true vote for “first life first” priority.

Leave a Reply

