Skip to content

An assessment on the value of Second Life

November 27, 2010

The only experience I had with Second Life besides this week’s romp at the fountain and search for sensei was my LIB 203 orientation to second life. During that time I overcame most of the awkwardness of the program making this time much smoother.

For me second life is another means to connect with others. As sensei said in his post. If there is someone out of this world’s 2 billion or so English speakers who I should spend 15 minutes getting to know, today its possible to meet them when before this never would have been possible. This is extremely important to me because I live in Tokyo, Japan nearly 24 hours travel time away from my home state of Michigan, and 17 time zones away from SLIS. So far I feel that I’ve used second life and other web technologies to become a part of the lives of people who I love. For this reason I understand why SLIS has chosen to invest in Second life. When you have an online learning community of 3,000 students second life is another means of bringing them together.

As a serious LIS subject I believe Second Life should not even be given any consideration. It has always troubled me that nearly 600 librarians volunteer in Second Life to offer library services. I’ve always thought that these librarians efforts would be more valuable if it were spent volunteering with organizations like Internet Public Library.

For this reason I do plan to use Second Life when I want to connect with people too far away to meet in person. I do not plan on using it as a platform to extend school library services.

One Comment leave one →
  1. clementmunns permalink
    December 6, 2010 1:53 pm

    Yes, the SL-reference is perplexing to me as well.

Leave a Reply

