Skip to content

Second Life

November 26, 2010

Well I can’t say that I’m the biggest fan of Second Life. I have spent way too many hours for the little amount things that I’ve accomplished there. However this second experience had made me understand its possibilities a little more. On this second round, my first few hours were complete horrible. I couldn’t figure out where the fountain was, since it was a holiday hardly anyone was around to help.  I became super bummed out as I watched the sun disappear, smelling the neighbors Thanksgiving feast…  But as I roamed around the SLIS campus I saw a few rooms and areas that revealed evidence of an academic setting, it was cool to see the campus that I was a part of. My building class experiences wasn’t all that great either… after finally finding something that suitable for my lack of second life experience it turned out that the class was canceled… I was thrilled (not really). But the instructor who just finished his class earlier helped me out… And that’s when it clicked… It was cool watching the students who hung out after class to continue the discussion. After a few tips from the most patient folks on the planet (literally) I was off to do some building. But now I really see the magic of second life.

One Comment leave one →
  1. clementmunns permalink
    December 4, 2010 1:36 pm

    After a long enough time the natural learning abilities of the mind just make all the difficulties evaporate; it’s a weird thing.

Leave a Reply

