Skip to content

My thoughts on Second Life:

November 26, 2010

When I first read the criteria for this assignment, I was a little apprehensive. I was unfamiliar with SL and  hadn’t really used it before.  After a bit of trouble installing the program and updating some drivers that weren’t compatible, I was off and running.

I was expecting a busy and bustling world, full of people interacting with one another, but sadly logging on to Second Life was rather uneventful. The area I started out in was completely empty. After wandering around a bit, I did manage to see one other individual, but that was all. I thought that I might find more people at the SJSU campus, but it was also completely empty. It was neat to see such an elaborate world and I did like the ability to fly, but I felt lost and rather alone.

I really didn’t get a good taste of Second Life’s power until I met my teacher and fellow classmates for a live get together. Now that was more like it. Being able to interact with a whole group of people, in real time, was a great experience and a lot of fun.  Everyone’s personality and appearance was so unique it really emphasized how a diverse group of individuals can work together, for a common goal.  After that, I could see the power of a program like Second Life.  Not only does it allow a user to interact within an entirely different world, but it lets a person live vicariously through an online persona. They can act however they feel comfortable acting, without all the usual barriers that we individuals construct in social situations.  I am sure that is why there is such a large part of the population that plays online MMORPGs (Massively Multiplayer Online Role-Playing Games).

What a fun and eye-opening assignment this was. I think I’ll be leaving Second Life installed on my computer.

One Comment leave one →
  1. clementmunns permalink
    December 6, 2010 1:26 pm

    Glad you enjoyed yourself. I like both types of experience (solo and group) in SL. There are regular events for SLIS people (dances, association events, etc)

Leave a Reply

