Skip to content

My Experience on Second Life

November 26, 2010
by

To be honest with you, Second Life doesn’t impress me that much. It is a great idea for online social networking, and you can make yourself to be whatever you want to be, but honestly, does anyone really find this to be fun and addictive? For online social networking, there’s Facebook. No need to download an entire game program or anything. And for altering your appearance, there’s NUMEROUS games that allow you to do the same things as Second Life, and the games are much more interesting, have quests/storylines, etc. It seems to me that Second Life is for the gamers that like the aspects of World of Warcraft, but don’t wish to shell out the cash monthly or annually to play it (and frankly, I don’t blame them!)

I personally do not have any qualms with this program, or the people that thoroughly enjoy playing it. It’s just I never found what all the hooplah was about with it. For LIBR 203, we had to create our avatar and fly around and do some mini assignments on there. Create your appearance, run through a course to learn the controls, etc. After all of that, you’ve completed it, and then now what? I was pretty lost as to what to actually do on the game, and being as with most of my generation, I got frustrated with it, and stopped playing it and forgot about it.

Then, came the assignment that we all just completed. I must admit, this was by far more fun than anything else I have done on SL. Derek’s avatar gave me a good laugh, as well as his floating antics. Building things, at first, was extremely difficult for me. I couldn’t figure out how to do anything. Even the link Derek supplied us, at least for me, was futile. Whenever I would click on a link for a class, it just wouldn’t do anything. So I did what any sensible student would do and went to youtube. Thankfully, I found a quick tutorial on building and was able to do what I had to do.

Overall, SL has immense potential, but for how long it has ben out, the technology seems really primitive, and sometimes complex and difficult to use. If they can make SL a bit more user friendly and have more of a “game” feeling, then this thing could get even bigger than what it already is.

One Comment leave one →
  1. clementmunns permalink
    December 6, 2010 1:44 pm

    Which link(s) are you referring to? (So I can check and fix if necessary)

Leave a Reply

