Skip to content

Second Life: My life as Wahwah Pedal

November 24, 2010

I have to admit, the first time I ever entered Second Life for LIBR 203, it gave me the creeps, BIG TIME. Perhaps it had something to do with the other avatars doing strange things around and to my avatar as she was in various states of undress and baldness, while I was “creating” her. This time, I am having much more fun. Aside from the preliminary motion sickness that comes with getting used to moving my avatar around, I have been getting more into it. I have traveled to exotic locations or shall I say, “transported?” I fly. I dance. I look WAY hotter than I do in real life. Meeting at the LIBR 246 area with my fellow LIBR 240 classmates was pretty cool. Even though I don’t really know anyone in my LIBR 240 class, it was nice to actually belong to a group of people for a while in a virtual land where everyone is usually a stranger. When meeting strangers that approach me in the exotic locations of SL, I can’t help but wonder if they are “picking up” my avatar. Silly, huh? I know.

Monica Hein

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Dora Mitchell permalink
    November 24, 2010 6:54 pm

    I don’t think that’s silly at all! That’s why I prefer my tiny bunny avatar… A lot of times no one even seems to notice me waddling around 🙂 Much more comfortable for me than when I’m walking around as my hot-chick avatar!

  2. Monica Hein permalink
    November 24, 2010 7:16 pm

    Thanks for the support, Dora. I thought your bunny avatar was awesome before, but now I have a whole new respect!

  3. shalizzard permalink
    November 28, 2010 2:04 pm

    I also spent a whole lot of time making my avatar hotter than I am, and then I was sad that I don’t actually have red hair and nice clothes.

  4. Monica Hein permalink
    November 28, 2010 6:09 pm

    Due to the trouble I went through in SL getting down the basics, I ran out of time to really perfect my avatar’s appearance…she’s still way hotter than me…ha ha

  5. clementmunns permalink
    December 4, 2010 5:52 pm

    True story: I am constantly asked to friend obvious “professional” women on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

