Skip to content

Second Life

November 23, 2010

I’m glad to have finally gotten around to Second Life, having taken whatever quiz they let me take in 203 in lieu of actually, you know, downloading an app and double clicking on it.

I’m more of a fan than I thought I’d be. I’ve seen it described as “the closest thing to a holodeck so far” and enjoyed playing with Bill and Ted moves and flying. Flying is pretty fun. I can see some version of myself wasting (I use the term wasting in a loving fashion) some ungodly amounts of time on this thing–but, as others have noted, there are many demands on one’s time. I’d like to get a Linux machine up and running over semester break, I’d like to tinker with my bicycle, and the reading queue is as long as it ever was. Poking around on the internet, I see some crazy things being done–someone built a castle in the sky, and a space station, and so on. The SLIS fascination with it makes a bit more sense, as this is no doubt something Serious People can use for Serious Purposes. Let us hope processor power can keep up with this sort of this, and get cheaper, to render this sort of virtual sandboxery accessible to many.

One Comment leave one →
  1. clementmunns permalink
    December 6, 2010 1:29 pm

    Glad to see you enjoyed it; I use a Linux app called “Snowglobe” for SL and find it works better than the Win/Mac apps.

Leave a Reply

