Skip to content

My Second Life Experience

November 23, 2010

My experience in SL was interesting and fun, albeit frustrating at times. I hadn’t used SL since the intro class over a year ago and I rarely play video games. Therefore, it took me awhile to get used to controlling my movements and getting comfortable in a virtual world. I played around with my appearance- altering my facial features and body, and changing into many different outfits (adult version of dress-up= fun!) I wandered around the world, building random things, touching objects, flying etc. I also took a class this morning- NCI Class: Building – BASICS on Boomer Island- where I learned about prims and built a snowman.

At first I felt like I was wasting time, wondering why I was getting up early to “sit” in class for an hour building a snowman when I could be writing a term paper. But then I realized that this class taught me the necessary tools to create objects in SL, as well as how interact with others and be part of the virtual world. This now opens up a whole new world with many benefits, especially for distance learning. I find online learning to be rather isolating, so SL could help remedy that by meeting other students and being part of a group. Not to mention how it could assist disabled individuals, and provide a more interesting/interactive way of learning (virtual lectures, presentations etc.). Overall, I think SL is a great tool for social networking, enhancing creativity, and just having a break from the real world! 😛

One Comment leave one →
  1. clementmunns permalink
    December 6, 2010 1:22 pm

    There are regular events held in SL for SLIS students/alumni.

Leave a Reply

